Author Topic: Chitting Hell  (Read 7871 times)

Mubgrub

• Half Acre
Chitting Hell
« on: January 25, 2005, 21:18:59 »
Hi all, just got my seed potatoes (hurrah!) and since its my first season I went on to HDRA's website for info on how best to 'Chit' them.  However, in two articles, both on the HDRA site there was conflicting info.  One said to put them in a light, warm place untill sprouts appear and then move them to a cooler light place and the other that they should be put in a warm,dark place to sprout and then moved to a cooler light place.  Which is right?  Light or dark to sprout?  I'm confused ???
What are everyone's methods?

Moggle

• Hectare
  • My island home is waiting for me
Re: Chitting Hell
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2005, 21:47:36 »
Mubgrub, I'm in my second year of spuds (first of 'mass' production) and I'm going to plonk them in egg boxes in my spare room - light and hopefully not too warm.

Last year I chitted around 10 spuds in direct sunlight on the windowsil, and they were fine.
Lottie-less until I can afford a house with it's own garden.

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2005, 23:26:49 »
There has been lots of chitting chat around the boards.  My spuds are in our unheated spare room which gets daylight, and occassional evening light.  Did the same last year and all was well.  I think the idea is keeping them cold, but not frosted, and darkish keeps the bud formation slow and stocky as the spuds are going to be around for a couple of months yet, the longer the chits, the harder they are to plant as you don't want to snap them all off!

Wicker

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2005, 23:50:12 »
That's it in a nutshell, Emma - except our earliest earlies are in egg trays in the g'house already chitting and the rest have not been delivered yet!
Equality isn't everyone being the same, equality is recognising that being different is normal.

Mubgrub

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2005, 14:42:10 »