Author Topic: alternatives  (Read 1560 times)

roycurwen1

• Not So New ...
  • Having a go . Love me shed .I'am a cider drinker .
alternatives
« on: May 16, 2011, 12:58:25 »
Hi all i was wandering what i can use as an alternative to slug pellets i am new to the allotment thing and don't want to use chemicals if i can help it . all replies greatly received . Thanks Roy.
Don't worry be Happy ! Thatchers Heritage / Chedder Valley Cider ! Happy Day's It will take over your life .Love the outdoor life . Its hard work but its worth it in the end.Black Country Born n Bred !

ripley

• Not So New ...
Re: alternatives
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 13:35:27 »
I read an article on slug deterants and it was found that bran is supposed to be good. You put it  around the plants and the slugs don,t like to move over it. They also eat it which is supposed to blow up their tummies!?

I got a huge bag of horse bran for seven pounds. The only problem I have found is the rain you then have to reapply. Too early to say if it worked or not!

Ripley

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 14:36:24 »
Well everything is made of chemicals   ;D  but there are a couple of approaches..

Nematodes - http://www.nemaslug.org.uk/ - not so good for snails though it does seem to help with slugs...does need to be reapplied every 6-8 weeks.
Use iron based slug pellets which are 'organic'... such as these - http://www.monrobrands.com/growingsuccess/resultdetail.php?brand=growingsuccess&keyword=ferric%20phosphate&category=Slug_Control&pageNum_Recordset1=0
Try beer traps in the ground...
Try various barrier methods - copper tape is said to work, bran as above, coffee grounds, crushed egg shells or nut shells, ash or soot, cloches.

Mind you I tried an experiment with coffee grounds as I have access to tonnes of the stuff and the snail crawled right over it!!

Moved to Portugal - ain't going back!

Vinlander

• Hectare