Author Topic: Looking after a raspberry crop  (Read 1767 times)

carosanto

• Half Acre
Looking after a raspberry crop
« on: April 19, 2011, 02:14:16 »
I have Tulameen and Autumn Bliss, and this is the second season for both.  I got nothing - well a measly 3 I think- last year.  Over the winter I lost 2 of my autumn bearers, even tho all plants were well mulched with wrm and home compost.  They now all have flowers a-plenty.

It's dry and very warm here at present so should I be giving my flowering plants plenty of water?  What about feeding...any suggestions here.  I have waited a while for these plants to bulk up and want to be sure of a good crop this year.

I am a newbie at growing rspberries so any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Caro
If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got!

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
Re: Looking after a raspberry crop
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 07:53:04 »
I planted my first raspberries last year too. I got a good crop off the summer ones, but not a lot from the autumn as it snowed just as they were starting to fruit!

I double dug the soil (heavy clay) and dug in loads of garden compost and well rotted manure.

With fruiting plants I tend to give them a high-potash feed as they start to flower (oh - I must remember to feed my strawberries!) And I mulched them autumn and early spring. My plants are doing really well and have bulked up loads.

I would normally only water them when they start fruiting. But I'm not sure if this is right, just what I did last year.

Hope yours are better this year.
gone to pot :D

antipodes

• Hectare
  • W. France, 5m x 20m (900 ft2)
    • My allotment blog
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2011, 16:00:33 »
To be honest, I have Heritage type, they fruit July onwards and I don't do anything to them at all! I find them to be completely feral and I am always destroying shoots that they send up in neighbouring areas!