Author Topic: Can I move my redcurrant?  (Read 6314 times)

vegandog

• Not So New ...
Can I move my redcurrant?
« on: March 22, 2011, 00:06:32 »
Hello,
I am a newbie and really pleased to have found this site. ;D
I have a redcurrant that I planted at the end of the garden last year. I wasn't sure what it was until it grew some fruit. It's in a bit of a shady location against a wall and I would like to relocate it to my new allotment.
Will it survive being dug up and when should I attempt this? I have recently pruned it back after watching Gardeners World this week.

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
Re: Can I move my redcurrant?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 07:02:50 »
Welcome Vegandog.  Welcome to A4A.  No experience of moving red currants, though mine have leaves on now so would think that it is a bit late.  Hopefully someone else will be along soon.

Stick some of the prunings into the ground they might root.  
« Last Edit: March 22, 2011, 07:05:02 by Digeroo »

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 08:35:30 »
If it's only been there a year it will probably survive being moved again. Personally I'd leave it for this season, take a couple of cuttings at the end of the season, as insurance, and move it to the lottie once it was dormant in early Winter..  :)

busy_lizzie

• Hectare
  • Izzy wizzy lets get busy! Whitley Bay, Tyne & Wear
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2011, 10:34:44 »
Hi, I have never had any problems moving redcurrants. They seem very happy to be transplanted and we have done ours several times with success. In fact a few years ago we used some old redcurrant twigs to mark out a bed only to find out that most of them had started to sprout.  :) busy_lizzie 
live your days not count your years

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2011, 10:45:18 »