Author Topic: Fitting another engine to rotavator  (Read 7238 times)

Whatever next?

• Not So New ...
Fitting another engine to rotavator
« on: February 13, 2011, 09:17:36 »
I am thinking of removing the engine on an old rotavator (looks a bit like a Merry Tiller but then again it doesn't) and trying to fit a Briggs and Stratton 5h.p. in it's place. The old engine seems to have had it's day, when I take the spark plug out it's black and oily. The replacement B & S is off an old mower and has always started well.

Has anyone else ever tried to change engines, how impossible is it, and will I have any fingers left to type with by the end of it?

Oh, and the other thing is I'm no mechanic!
Happiness is leaf shaped

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
Re: Fitting another engine to rotavator
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 09:30:39 »
it's not a difficult job, if you have some engineering skills. main problem can be if the new engine is too powerful for the old gearbox.

You couldn't make it up!

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2011, 09:36:46 »
Before you do anything, check that there is not too much oil in the engine already fitted. Drain the old oil and start again with the right spec oil for the job. A shot of red ex in the plug hole and left for a few days will unclog the rings which might be all the trouble there is. Changing engines should not be a problem You might have to adapt the mounting plates, the main trouble will be matching it to the transmission.

I have shoe horned various engines into motorcyle frames over the years, there is always a snag somewhere, just sleep on the problem and it would have sorted itself by the next morning. locktight on the nuts and bolts is highly recommended, as even the tightest of fixings will vibrate loose.

gp.girl

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2011, 09:38:35 »