Author Topic: TOTAL NOVICE!  (Read 2725 times)

Mack

• Not So New ...
  • I have often regretted my speech, never my silence
TOTAL NOVICE!
« on: July 18, 2003, 00:27:34 »
??? Have the allotment. Spend most of the time removing barrows full of rubble & bricks in attempt to create one large workable area.
This in due course will be dissected into manageable beds with some sort of partitioning. Materials and labour wont be a problem but I could do with some practical suggestions on the general lay out and materials that could be used for walkways between the beds. So far, I’ve pulled out old carpets and rumble that would of looked well in the bottom of a skip so none of these ideas are appealing to me now.
Any suggestions on were I could view some smart practical Allotments would be much appreciated.
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by 1077926400 »
"The secret of success is to know something nobody else knows."

Mack.

Lil

• Not So New ...
Re: TOTAL NOVICE!
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2003, 12:47:38 »
I took on an allotment about 6 weeks ago and it sounds in a similar state. The weeds were taller than me and I'm 5'10!  There was rusty rubbish everywhere.
I have cut it down to the ground, putting all weeds even perennials against the hedge for about 10ft long and covered with black polythene, put all the rust in another corner near the gate, which i take little loads to the dump twice a week (its going down slowly).  I was given advice by an old gardener aged 84 to dig a little bed, about 6' by 3' and get some seeds in, just concentrating on that, and then when thats growing, start to dig amother little bed and just work my way aroung the allotment.  That way you don't feel totally overwhelmed and disheartened, and you get to grow something.  Its lookin better as I can see a little improvement everytime I go on rather than a big mess.
Hope this helps you, this advice helped me!

Lil

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2003, 12:51:04 »