Author Topic: aminopyralid  (Read 20400 times)

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
Re: aminopyralid
« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2010, 19:40:16 »
Garden Organic are collecting data on contamination incidents

http://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?formkey=dHhSbUZDbEgtLWxadW5RaWZZNHAzcHc6MQ

Ellen K

• Hectare
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire
« Reply #21 on: July 13, 2010, 19:42:39 »
But what I am trying to say is that, even as a rookie, I can see that this aminopyralid thing is everywhere.  And that many gardeners are affected who don't even recognise it.  It is really difficult when you see your neighbour with the fern effect on his spuds and toms and other stuff not taking off - you can mention it once that this may be weedkiller in the manure he got but if he doesn't pick up the ball what are you supposed to do?  And then your other neighbours talk about getting some manure to improve the soil on their garden, what can you say?  It is really difficult when it all comes down to what some newbie has read on the internet.  I just say that in spite of the state of my plot I won't be buying because of the risk.  What else can you do?  

:(

• Acre
« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2010, 20:04:08 »
Chicken pellets are fertilisers. Manure is a soil conditioner. They do different jobs so theres no point in comparing them.

If you are saying that they are chalk and cheese, well I don't agree: OK they are processed and handled very differently but basically they are both poo from herbivores.  So they must have a lot in common.

They both start out as poo but thats where the similarity ends. Manure opens up the structure of the soil and helps it to retain water because of the bulky organic content. Chicken pellets have had all the water and bulky organic matter removed and are just dessicated nutrients in a convenient pellet form. Chicken pellets wont improve the strucutre of a heavy clay soil and they wont improve the waterretaining qualities of a freedraining soil.