Author Topic: hello,new here  (Read 1723 times)

soupdragon1973

• Not So New ...
hello,new here
« on: June 17, 2010, 06:39:47 »
I am not strictly an allotment gardener,I am a raised beds in the back garden type gardener and this is my first ever year growing my own veg.It is exciting and worrying,abit like having a newborn around(which incidentally I have this year,my first child also!). I am enjoying it thoroughly so far,not too many problems to report although I do have ants around and my spinach leaves have some worrying discoloured patches on them. I am a complete novice!

My question is this,I would like to learn more and wish to volunteer somewhere.I live in Portsmouth.Does anyone have any ideas where I could volunteer a few hours a week and learn something in the process??

Many thanks,

Alex

Jeannine

• Hectare
  • Mapleridge BC Canada
Re: hello,new here
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2010, 07:07:33 »
Well hello and welcome, I can't help you with your volunteering but hang around here and you will learn a lot very fast,they are a great bunch of gardeners and this is a very caring friendly site..

Enjoy your garden and a first baby too.

Don't be afraid to ask questions even what seems like a silly one has been asked before.

What do you think you would like to grow?

XX Jeannine

When God blesses you with a multitude of seeds double  the blessing by sharing your  seeds with other folks.

nilly71

• Hectare
  • Romford,Essex
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2010, 08:28:32 »
Welcome to the forum Alex :)

Same as Jeannine but take some pictures and put them on here.
Are you going to have just veg/fruit beds or mix them with flowers?

Neil

soupdragon1973

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2010, 08:33:14 »
Thanks Jeannine,