Author Topic: Carrots gone to seed  (Read 6573 times)

raking

• Not So New ...
Carrots gone to seed
« on: June 15, 2010, 19:24:05 »
Just recently my carrots, planted last October have really taken off with stems around 3ft high but the actual below ground vegetable is thin and scrawny, also the plant seems to be going to seed. It's my first year of growing carrots and I've been advised to cut the stems really back to say 6inches above ground. Does anyone have any other advice to offer?

gwynleg

• Hectare
Re: Carrots gone to seed
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 19:31:58 »
I'm no expert but I'd be tempted to leave some to go to seed and then use the seed to sow again - its notoriously difficult to germinate but I'd guess fresh will be much better

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 19:32:47 »
carrots are biennials...meaning they grow the root and tops on first year and and flower and set seed in second..now as yours have over wintered ..this is their second year and they are doing what is in their nature..
Ideally you would sow carrots spring/early summer for most varieties...and crop from late summer onwards..and use them by spring..as this is when their second season starts...so by cutting the tops off now will not prevent them from setting seed..
So now you just have to start again with new crop..
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 19:35:00 by goodlife »

raking

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 19:47:48 »
So should I just pull the lot and throw then away

goodlife

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2010, 20:27:22 »
If you are not planning to save any seeds..yes..but you can always taste them and see if they are still ok for eating..if they are..start munching.. ;D..

raking

• Not So New ...
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2010, 21:25:54 »
Not particularly interested in the seeds but the actual carrrot root is tiny and there's little available to eat; will these still continue to grow if I leave them or is it all over?

Digeroo

• Hectare