Author Topic: ponds for begginers  (Read 2579 times)

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
ponds for begginers
« on: June 01, 2010, 12:09:54 »
Hi

Well we've been busy building a pond in the garden ;D And we've ordered the liners, pumps and all that malarkey.  It's a small pond, and won't have any fish, and we are hoping the toads will avail themselves of the pond next spring  ;)

BUT I know nothing about ponds and planting.

Is there a good website out there for pond beginners !! Basically I look at sites (including here) and see suggestions for planting, so I'm starting to get some ideas but (for instance) I have no idea as to how many oxygenating plants I need, plus other questions that I have and have yet to have!!
Do any of you know of some good on-line resources for a complete novice?

In the meantime - I'm sooooooooo excited about having a pond  ;D  ;D  ;D  ;D

elhuerto

• Acre
Re: ponds for begginers
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2010, 07:50:13 »
I've been reading up this too

Here's a couple of sites with plenty of reading

http://www.beautifulbritain.co.uk/htm/pond/pond_pages.htm

http://watergarden.com/pages/plant_care.html
Location: North East Spain - freezing cold winters, boiling hot summers with a bit of fog in between.

• Hectare
    • Promenade Plantings
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2010, 09:33:52 »
Thanks Elhuerto - I'm off for a read. Lots to learn  :)

GrannieAnnie

• Hectare
  • in Delaware, USA growing zone 6 or 7
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2010, 09:22:00 »
I'd like to comment on one statement in one of the above articles which said:
"Remember - the fish will eat your tadpoles, tiny froglets and other water creatures! So, decide what type of pond you want before you go any further."