Author Topic: Pots in growbags  (Read 2528 times)

Paulines7

• Hectare
Pots in growbags
« on: May 30, 2010, 16:09:46 »
I am thinking of trying the method of using pots with the bottoms cut out, placed in a growbag.  I have never tried this method before but feel it should be better as far as watering goes.  I find that I can't get enough water into the growbags using an automatic sprinkler whereas pots would catch more. 

My question is: what size pots should I use for tomatoes given that I have giant Tomorite planters that will take three plants?  Also, should I use the same size pots for peppers and chillies and could I get more than three in these big growbags?

Your help is much appreciated.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: Pots in growbags
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2010, 16:44:00 »
8"-10" diameter with a similar height if possible.

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 16:54:31 »
Just wondering, TG, if toms can grow in growbags, which are relatively shallow, why do you recommend such tall pots, which require a lot of compost?

Tee Gee

• Hectare
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2010, 18:33:26 »
if toms can grow in growbags, which are relatively shallow, why do you recommend such tall pots, which require a lot of compost?

Tomatoes have a two tier root system!

Feeding roots at the top and water roots at the bottom!

You say;

feel it should be better as far as watering goes.  I find that I can't get enough water into the growbags using an automatic sprinkler whereas pots would catch more. 

Effectively the plants grow in the pot and the water roots seek out water from the grow bag, plus the surplus moisture from the pot will trickle through into the bag to form a reservoir.

Have a look at this slide show and see where  I use a bed of well rotted manure in lieu of grow bags.

Plus I part fill the pot/ring with farm yard manure!