Author Topic: Weed suppression by ground cover  (Read 2902 times)

Cider Chris

• Not So New ...
  • DOH! Drunk the Slug Beer again!!!
Weed suppression by ground cover
« on: November 22, 2004, 10:40:16 »
I'm very new to this so please excuse my rather stupid question regarding weed suppression and slug deterrant.
I've just inheirited a rather overgrown allotment and have spent most of the last 3 months digging it over and pulling up bindweed and couch roots. I have seen many articles relating to black plastic and old carpet to cut out the sunlight from developing weeds.
My question is: In my garage I've got 10 rolls of gravel covered roofing felt. Can I lay this on my plot and cut slits in it to plant my brassicas? Would the gravel coating deter slugs from wandering over the gritty surface to gorge themselves on my cabbages? Is there anything in the roofing felt that could harm my plot? ie bitumen leaching into the soil? ??? By the way I think this site is superb for newbies like me.

Granny_Smith

• Half Acre
  • Of course its me - who else could look like this ?
Re:Weed suppression by ground cover
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2004, 10:59:27 »
Welcome aboard Chris - sorry I can't answer your question, but I'm sure someone else will soon.
Granny is still your best friend !

rdak

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2004, 12:23:59 »
Hi Chris,

I would go on the side of caution and not use it- I'm sure there's nasty chemicals in that stuff.
Carpet shops throw out loads of off-cuts every week- when I need some I can often just drive around a couple and fill up my car with carpet.

Ross

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2004, 17:22:53 »
I should think that the tarry substance would harm the new plants. I have never heard of anybody using this stuff, but I expect the reason is that it is too expensive. Perhaps you could just try a small strip and then let us all know the result. I have seen plant pots made of a similar material.

Columbus

• Hectare