Author Topic: spuds are showing  (Read 5136 times)

flitwickone

• Half Acre
spuds are showing
« on: April 25, 2010, 11:46:26 »
i think my spuds are coming through the mad thing is i dont know what a spud plant looks  like lol this is my first year ::)

and its pouring with rain here as well ;D

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
Re: spuds are showing
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 12:18:16 »
Check out the piccies on other spud posts on edibles, you may have to scroll down, its been raining here as well.    ;D ;D ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

Buckeye Girl

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 21:24:38 »
My earlies ( Lady Christl ) started poking their heads up last week - very Excited.    I decided to put some grass cuttings on top of them to help protect them.  No sign of my 2nd earlies, or Salad (Corolle ) yet.

Had a bit of rain today.  This is my first year too ...,  funny how ones opinion of rain changes once you are trying to grow things.

bluecar

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2010, 21:11:14 »
Unlike most weeds they tend to be a darkish geen and are around 1 inch diameter with very thick/dense apperance.

I hope this helps

http://www.thegardenersalmanac.co.uk/Data/Potatoes/Planting%20potatoes/planting%20potatoes.html

Good luck

brownowl23

• Acre
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2010, 21:43:30 »
earlies and some second earlies were showwing yesterday but theyve just been buried again.
My bag of tatties first and second earlies planted in feb have leaves about 2-3 foot high.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2010, 21:50:34 by brownowl23 »

bluecar

• Acre
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2010, 21:48:12 »
Whoops!

Having read my post I didn't mean to imply spuds were weeds.

I meant in comparison to weeds.

Poppy Mole

• Hectare
  • Petworth, West Sussex
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2010, 22:41:35 »
Mine are well up & over the top of their tub, just enough room for another bucket of stuff

PIGEON

• Not So New ...