Author Topic: Verbena Bonari.....  (Read 2919 times)

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
Verbena Bonari.....
« on: November 19, 2004, 09:43:27 »
Should I cut back my verbena bonari-can'tspellit now or wait until spring? Is there any way to improve it's chances of getting through the winter, other than digging it up and putting it somewhere warm (I really don't want to have to do that as it's got well established).

This is my first year with one, so I'm not too sure if it's hardy in my area (greater London).
gone to pot :D

sandersj89

• Hectare
  • Who me?
    • My Allotment Blog
Re:Verbena Bonari.....
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2004, 10:59:41 »
I leave mine in the ground all winter without a problem, that is in West Sussex in a bit of a frost pocket.

I have not cut back yet as the seed heads look quite nice frosted. I will probably tidy them up some time in Jan/Feb

You will find that they self seed very well as well and will pop up all over the place next spring.
jerry
Caravan Holidays in Devon, come stay with us:

http://crablakefarm.co.uk/

I am now running a Blogg Site of my new Allotment:

http://sandersj89allotment.blogspot.com/

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2004, 11:01:39 »
THanks Jerry - I like your reply - it means I have to do nothing! (Lazy winter gardener that I am!)
gone to pot :D

Garden Manager

• Hectare
  • Denman the Great
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2004, 11:04:43 »
I treat mine the same as penstemons. Leave the old growth on until spring to protect it over winter then cut back when new growth appears.

Jak

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2004, 14:11:37 »
I leave mine until spring unless they get blown down.  Like Jerry I find that they self-seed all over the place and they are beginning to take over my front garden - growing in between the paving slabs to such an extent that I will have to do some serious weeding! :'(  I'm in East Sussex.

Jak  :)