Author Topic: rotting manure?  (Read 1745 times)

paulie q

rotting manure?
« on: April 14, 2010, 21:42:04 »
hi there, I'm looking to start a small veg plot in my garden which I have only prepared just over two weeks ago. I mixed in a load of manure into my bed which hasn't been rotted down.

is it OK to plant my veg or should i leave it until next year? also are there any risks to human health from using this manure?

javahart

• Quarter Acre
    • My veg blog
Re: rotting manure?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2010, 22:24:01 »
I'm still new to this but the old timers on my site say its fine to plant potatoes with fresh manure, they love it! 

There are four groups of veg - potatoes, legumes, roots, brasicca & I know that brasica's and roots hate manure due to it being more acidic.

Check this link out
http://www.gardenersworld.com/how-to/projects/crop-rotation/

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2010, 22:30:15 »
The only health risk is if you don't wash your hands properly and end up ingesting some of it...

My brassicas love it... I've had the best sprouts ever for the last two years when I put a 6" layer of muck on the bed and then turned what was left in before planting out the brassicas.  :-X

:(

• Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2010, 23:07:05 »
also are there any risks to human health from using this manure?

tetanus if it gets in a cut or graze.

Geoff H

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2010, 23:49:28 »
If you are a gardener you must ensure that your tetanus jabs are up to date. It is not just in manure, its in the soil.

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2010, 07:39:44 »