Author Topic: couple questions  (Read 1475 times)

kymrob

• Half Acre
couple questions
« on: April 21, 2010, 14:51:59 »
couple questions
i want  to try to always sow directly in to grown  is there anything what cant be?
is there a website what tell you what needs to be sown now week to week or monthly? is there one on here? im a beginner so any advice

davyw1

• Hectare
  • I love My Country
Re: couple questions
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2010, 15:16:23 »
Times vary depending where you are in the country, i live in the north east so i am 3 to 4 weeks behind gardeners south of me, this guide should help you

http://gardenaction.co.uk/fruit_veg_diary/veg_planner.asp
When you wake up on a morning say "good morning world" and be grateful

DAVY

BarriedaleNick

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Cartaxo, Portugal
    • Barriedale Allotments
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 15:19:16 »
I cant think of anything that cant be sown directly but there are somethings that wont work due to time temp etc.

Toms, Chillis, Aubergine, Cucumbers, Squash are some that I wouldn't concider sowing direct because they need a decent temp to germinate esp Chillis.  By the time the soil temp is up to the required than you will be months behind.

BBC has a planner http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/calendar/calendar.shtml#/task/201004180003
or veg by month

http://www.bbc.co.uk/gardening/calendar/tips/category/vegetables#gc-month-apr
Moved to Portugal - ain't going back!

Tulipa

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2010, 15:45:15 »
Hi

There is some info on here, if you look in the Wiki above and click on Newbies there is some info on what to plant month by month on there as well as other info, this is a link to it...

http://www.allotments4all.co.uk/smf/index.php?page=9

Good luck

nilly71

• Hectare
  • Romford,Essex
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2010, 15:56:47 »
out of interest, why do you want to sow direct in to the ground?