Author Topic: S.O.S.  (Read 4596 times)

jupeter

• Not So New ...
S.O.S.
« on: February 05, 2005, 21:27:40 »
Being complete novices, last Autumn we made our first gallon of wine using grapes from a friend's grapevine. The grapes were neither black nor white but an in-between "blush" colour.

The wine is now in a demi-john and has been racked twice in total. The flavour is, well, errrrrrrr ??? exceedingly dry. We have added two teaspoons of Tate and Lyle sugar and, until it was racked for the second time a fortnight ago and a second Camden tablet added, was clearing well. After this racking, however, it has become very cloudy and we are at a loss what to do  :'(.

The problem is that in March we are giving a party to launch our wine!!! Our guests may well have to cope with its sharp flavour but not with it cloudiness, which looks awful. Please help  :-* or we may be forced to cheap by bottling up 6 of Tesco's finest!!!!

Doris_Pinks

• Hectare
Re: S.O.S.
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2005, 23:24:43 »
You could try some finings, available from your home brew store , that should clear it!
We bottle our dry stuff and add teaspoonfuls of caster sugar to each bottle until desired flavour is there, or again you can get special sweetener from the home brew store. It may even clear itself again if left.
Hope this helps  DP
We don't inherit the earth, we only borrow it from our children.
Blog: http://www.nonsuchgardening.blogspot.com/

jupeter

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2005, 18:55:54 »
Thank you Doris. We'll try some finings but I wondered if it was the addition of the Camden tablet that made it go cloudy. What do you think please?

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2005, 13:22:20 »