Author Topic: Blagging Freebies  (Read 86458 times)

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Blagging Freebies
« on: March 23, 2010, 16:12:35 »
Following the recent PM seed requests by a complete newbie, I’ve been wondering why we’ve got people joining just to ask for freebies and it didn’t take long to find at least one answer.  On the moneysavingexpert forum, a member there (who is also a member here) has posted many times that this is a seed swap site where you don’t have to give anything in return.

If you prefer that your goodies go to people who stick around and keep the forum lively and vibrant, just check the member’s last posts in their profile.  It’s usually very clear if they are freeloaders.  For example, there’s someone at the moment (who is also a moneysavingexpert member) who has posted 12 times here and 10 are ‘can I have’ posts.  Ultimately it’s up to individuals who they give their seeds to but it’s worth knowing that there are blaggers operating.  I’ve stickied this for future reference by newbies.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: Blagging Freebies
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 16:59:35 »
thanks for this, ceres, I'm a member of martin's money tip, I'm off for a look  :-\

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 17:02:00 »
She does go a bit overboard doesn't she?
« Last Edit: March 23, 2010, 17:09:06 by Robert_Brenchley »

Tulipa

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 17:53:15 »
Thanks Ceres, I had spotted that happening too. ;)

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 18:10:14 »
I rejected several newbie from my seed swap.  It is rather difficult because it does not seem very welcoming to say hi welcome to the forum, but sorry I am rejecting you.