Author Topic: Cost of seed potatoes  (Read 4636 times)

I love digging

• Quarter Acre
Cost of seed potatoes
« on: February 28, 2010, 14:18:02 »
How much is everyone else paying for seed potatoes?

I usually buy mine from my local hardware shop as I'm not very good at planning ahead and they usually have a choice of 3 or 4 for each type (first, second earlies, mains).  A couple of weeks ago I bought a bag of Unwins Pentland Javelin First Earlies - 2.5kg for £3.99. 

When I looked on Unwins website today they advertise what looks to be exactly the same deal (ie 25-30 tubers, mine had 31) for £6.50 which, by the time I've added postage as well, comes to £11.25.

So am I missing something here?   ???

Flighty

• Hectare
    • Flighty's Plot
Re: Cost of seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2010, 14:26:48 »
My horticultural society has done all seed potatoes at £1-20 per kg, and you can buy any quantity from one upwards!  On offer were 3/4 varieties each of first earlies, second earlies and maincrop.
As with most things it's well worth shopping around as prices do vary considerably.
Flighty's plot,  http://flightplot.wordpress.com,  is my blog.

I support the Gardening with Disabilities Trust, http://www.gardeningwithdisabilitiestrust.org.uk

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2010, 15:06:25 »
the seed companies seem to be charging lots more this year, the sweet potato slips have doubled   :-\

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2010, 15:11:22 »
My lot went up a bit this year but managed to get them @45p per pound (£1.00 kg)

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2010, 15:17:12 »
Paying £1:20 per Kg in the lottie shop... slightly more elsewhere. Big thanks to Tattieman, finally got to Brookside Nuseries (Anstey) for the Epicure...
If you are near they have a great selection...