Author Topic: I also got a dwarf peach tree  (Read 1848 times)

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
I also got a dwarf peach tree
« on: January 05, 2010, 12:21:24 »
This is really the same question as my lemon tree thread but I thought I'd keep them separate in case I got confused!!

Another of my Xmas presents was a dwarf peach tree in a pot. Do you think people know I like gardening? It its currently sitting in my relatively cool verging on cold porch. It seems to be dormant at the moment but looks as though it will produce buds in the not too distant future.. The soil seems pretty dry and I have not watered it so far. I wrap it up in fleece overnight but try to let it get a couple of hours without the fleece every day. My intention is to put it in my new greenhouse on my allotment once it is built and move it outside in the summer. Meantime it can stay in the porch. Like with the lemon tree I have no experience whatever in growing peaches and really don't know where to start.

So how do I care for it? When/how often does it get fed/ watered? What sort of temperatures are right for it? All advice very welcome!

betula

• Hectare
Re: I also got a dwarf peach tree
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 12:23:38 »
The people who choose your Xmas pressies must be Fab people.

That is as much as I know about Peach Tree's  ;D

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 12:26:03 »
our peach tree is in the ground at the plot, doesn't need any protection, yours might be different as it's in a pot, needs a bit of cover in spring, think it's from feb, against peach leaf curl, either that or you spray  :(
anyway, enjoy your presents, home grown peaches are so much better than shop bought, we got 7 last year  :P

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 12:43:17 »