Author Topic: We finally going Down Under - any tips?  (Read 2054 times)

carosanto

• Half Acre
We finally going Down Under - any tips?
« on: February 03, 2010, 17:32:18 »
Hi Y'all

OH and me are finally going to do the Big Trip to Oz.  We are not sure when, but it will be this year or early next.  We are complete novices at booking long trips like this.  But I bet there are some of you who could help us.

Has anyone been recently to Oz?

Did you book own flights and arrange itinerary or get an agency to do it for you?

Does anyone have any experience of the hired motorhome in Oz?

What about public transport, i.e. long disance trains, or internal flights?

We will spend a week in Sydney with friends.  The rest of our time, and we hope to spend 4- weeks away, we are open to anything but would like to look at:

Tasmania - Cairns - Barrier Reef - maybe some of the wine growing country
But honestly we need some recommendations, the more off the wall and unusual the better.  So....any ideas are truly welcome.  The truth is always out there in A4A.

Regards,

If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got!

tricia

• Hectare
  • Torbay, Devon
Re: We finally going Down Under - any tips?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 18:03:30 »
Tasmania - Cairns - Barrier Reef - maybe some of the wine growing country

Memories, memories.............it was a long time ago - 1991 - but I visited all those places and many more when I spent 10 weeks down-under. We toured by hiring cars at each airport we arrived at.