Author Topic: bullies.  (Read 1838 times)

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
bullies.
« on: January 11, 2010, 20:53:37 »
Daughter has asked what she can do. She has 4 hens & she thinks one is being bullied. It is a small breed & the others seem to be pushing her out at feeding time etc.
Is there anything she can do?

mummybunny

• Hectare
  • Loves the lottie
Re: bullies.
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 13:51:41 »
Hi,

How long has your daughter had the chickens? Is the one you think is being bullied new to the others?

I have 8 chickens and they still argue at feeding times, I think its all to do with the pecking order. As long as she gets to eat and looks OK i wouldn't worry too much. If they peck her too much and starts bleeding then i would remove her until she is healed ( Sometimes chickens will keep pecking if they see blood). Then maybe try to introduce her to the others again.

I'm still learning too but I'm sure someone will be along and correct me if I'm wrong.  ;D

Lucy x

RW

• Quarter Acre
    • The Poultry Guide
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 20:31:24 »
Agree with Lucy's reply. If its only at feeding time then add another feeder.  It can help to provide distractions such as hanging greens/CDs for them to peck at. Offer plenty room, avoid overcrowding and provide objects to run around and to jump on.

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 20:48:26 »
Thanks for that mummybunny & RW. She got them all at the same time, around August I think & they have a large penned area. I think she feels it's not only at meal times but she is rather melodramatic bless her, when it comes to animals ;). I will pass this info on to her.

Steven

• Quarter Acre
  • Heaven or hell..?
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2010, 23:26:47 »