Author Topic: seed potatoes  (Read 1653 times)

Dads Army

• Not So New ...
seed potatoes
« on: January 11, 2010, 12:08:42 »
Hello as you can see I am new to allotment 4all. I asked a question in the shed forum Instead of here, so I will repeat it here. I was just trying to find out if there was any reason why you could not use named potatoes,  ie, King Edwards which have chitted instead of seed potatoes or will  that cause any problems. As I remember when a boy 60yrs or so ago, when money was a little short (like today) we saved some potatoes, by putting them  in the shed,I think in sand? to use over winter. And some of these, my father used as seed potatoes for the next season. THanks.

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook
Re: seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 12:24:13 »
The problem is that potatoes accumulate viruses so each year you grow saved tubers they'll do less well.  Seed potatoes are grown in areas that don't have a virus vector like aphids, so they accumulate virus less rapidly, and they are graded by their virus load so that virus doesn't build up in the seed stock.  Eliminating virus is one reason to grow potates from true seed, though it takes a couple of years to get a crop that way.
An Agreement of the People for a firm and present peace upon grounds of common right

small

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 13:27:35 »
I'm glad you asked that, Dad's Army (and by the way, welcome, you'll love it here). I've always bought seed potatoes but this year find myself with sufficient littlies left from last years crop to try growing on.  What's the worst that can happen if I do?  I don't mind a reduced crop since I only grow for early new potatoes really, but could I infect the ground for subsequent years? The variety is Pentland Javelin.

GodfreyRob

• Acre
  • Good Boy!
    • The VGA Live!
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 14:32:37 »