Author Topic: mice in my pond  (Read 6029 times)

neilfrombury

mice in my pond
« on: September 25, 2009, 21:55:53 »
hi everybody
I'm a newbie to this marvelous website.
i was out in my garden earlier on tonight and having a general look around the pond when i spotted 3 dead mice floating on the top?
my pond is roughly 4 feet off ground level  and is in a raised bed.
i have a pet rabbit as well in my garden about 20 feet away and i have never seen any mice activity before,it came as quite a shock to see them floating in the pond.
my question is why/how have the mice got in the pond,and do you think its anything to do with the rabbits food supply.
any help would be greatly appreciated as my darling wife is worried that the mice may come in the house.
p.s. all rabbit food is kept in the house, in containers and there is none in the garage.
cheers
neil
  :-\

telboy

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments4All
Re: mice in my pond
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 22:16:11 »
neil,
better in than out?
Eskimo Nel was a great Inuit.

labrat

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 09:17:38 »
Mice will be attracted by any food supply. If you think you have a problem with the rabbit food then empty out the food dish (or whatever it is in) every evening. Also if the rabbit hutch is close to the house you could move it away so as to stop the house becoming an easy secondary target.

Mice are prodigious climbers. I've seen one climb 10ft up a pebble-dashed wall to get into a small hole in a neighbours house. Most critters find it difficult to get out of ponds with high sides and subsequently drown (good swimmers like hedgehogs fall victim to this). I have one or two of my downpipe drains uncovered and I often mice have fallen in and drowned in the u-bend.