Author Topic: Flame gun for wireworms?  (Read 8745 times)

Squash64

• Hectare
    • Walsall Road Allotments
Flame gun for wireworms?
« on: October 17, 2009, 06:13:07 »
Someone on our site asked me if the committee could buy a flame gun for people to hire out ....................to sterilize the soil.  ???

He said it would kill all the wireworms which he says are causing holes in potatoes.

Now this doesn't make any sense to me - I can't imagine the heat from a flame gun would penetrate more than a few inches of soil but I'm no expert.
Is it possible? 
Betty
Walsall Road Allotments
Birmingham

allotment website:-
www.growit.btck.co.uk

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
Re: Flame gun for wireworms?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2009, 07:20:25 »
When I dig my robins take the wireworms.   They are very good at finding them.  Another reason I am not convinced about the no dig system.

Like you I am not convinced the flame gun would penetrate into the soil.  I have run mine over the soil where the potatoes/tomatoes have been to get rid of the fungus.

I got mine quite cheaply in Lidl but not sure where I can get replacement cans, they are quite expensive and it seems to use it up quite quickly.

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2009, 09:14:11 »
I don't have wireworm on my plot (no-dig), any I did have I trapped, and fed to the local blackbird.
they are the larvae of the click beetle, which lays its eggs in grass (which I don't have)
You couldn't make it up!

Squash64

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2009, 09:19:58 »
I don't have wireworm on my plot (no-dig), any I did have I trapped, and fed to the local blackbird.
they are the larvae of the click beetle, which lays its eggs in grass (which I don't have)