Author Topic: Any orchid experts out there?  (Read 1728 times)

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
Any orchid experts out there?
« on: July 10, 2009, 10:06:24 »
I have orchids & a couple of them have what I think are mealy bugs. I have tried using meths on a cotton bud but it's now very bad :'( :'(. If I were to put meths in a spray bottle & use it as a bug spray would that be to aggresive for them. 

landimad

• Hectare
  • Me wheels have gone again. Northants UK
Re: Any orchid experts out there?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 11:55:52 »
Other half got one for christmas a couple of years back and hers was in flower.
Since then no flowers and no growth. still give it rainwater though.
Possibly mine in wrong place.

Not sure what to suggest as I am new to these as well. :-[

Got them back now to put some tread on them

tonybloke

• Hectare
  • Gorleston 0n sea, Norfolk
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 12:42:00 »
use a kiddies paint brush, get right into the leaf axils, and around the root area as well. meths is the best way to deal with them.
 ;)
You couldn't make it up!

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2009, 12:56:58 »
I have several that I got from Lidl some of them have been going for 18 months. As soon as one flower finishes another one starts.  I have been giving them tap water. (Very hard!!!) I put the orchid pot on top of another pot and keep watering a little bit every few days.  The other pots are sainsbury's quark pots.  They fill with water and seem to keep the whole plant moist from below.  Important to keep the roots moist but not wet the leaves.  They also seem to like quite a sunny situation.  Have mine on a south facing windowsill, though there are a couple of shrubs giving a little bit of shade.  The instructions said not direct sun, but actually seem to like it a lot.