Author Topic: Yet another Potato question - sorry  (Read 1454 times)

chippy queen

• Quarter Acre
Yet another Potato question - sorry
« on: July 10, 2009, 10:57:46 »
Hi. This is my first year allotmenteering and I have grown Pentland Javelin new potatoes.  Although they are very nice and we are pleased with the taste I do find that they go a bit mashy when cooked., also they have smooth skins. I would like to grow new potatoes with what I can only describe as "flaky skins". Does anyone know what variety I could choose for next year or are there any like that that I could put in for Christmas time.  Thanks in advance. Jacky

mpdjulie

• Acre
Re: Yet another Potato question - sorry
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2009, 15:08:00 »
We've just finished the last of our charlotte pots.  They have a flaky, don't have to be boiled for long and tend to hold their shape when cooked.  They are a very nice creamy tasting potato.  They are a second early which I planted in April and pulled last week of June.
Hope this helps.
Julie :)

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2009, 15:13:32 »
Steam them for 30 mins.  :P      ;D ;D ;D
MAY THE CORN BE WITH YOU.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2009, 15:18:26 »
For years I have grown 'Foremost' as an early and have been relatively happy with them.

This year I am trying Rocket!

I have found with the Rocket that I am getting fewer tubers but they seem to be larger so I guess pound for pound they are giving me a similar return!

macmac

• Hectare
  • weston super mare
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2009, 15:56:46 »
For years I have grown 'Foremost' as an early and have been relatively happy with them.

This year I am trying Rocket!

I have found with the Rocket that I am getting fewer tubers but they seem to be larger so I guess pound for pound they are giving me a similar return!