Author Topic: Elderflower champagne  (Read 13403 times)

greenfists

• Half Acre
Re: Elderflower champagne
« Reply #20 on: June 03, 2009, 22:42:05 »
My batch is now under way. If it has no alcohol in it why is it fermenting/
Also made 3 litres of elderflower cordial as an experiment.
Got to say, its lovely.
Off to tramp the fields again at the weekend to gather some flowers for more cordial.
If you haven't got green fingers then use your fists.

FennelandFern

• Half Acre
    • Fennel & Fern
« Reply #21 on: June 03, 2009, 23:01:11 »
I made mine last weekend...http://fennelandfern.co.uk/2009/05/25/elderflower-champagne/
Made it at parents' house, where my father regaled me with many tales of running out onto the balcony with bottles of homemade champagne which were about to pop! Now he unscrews the caps every couple of days to let the gas out...

I have to admit that I prefer elderflower cordial..it reminds me of sitting in a cafe in Exeter with lots of dear friends when I was a student. Might go and make some of that as well.
www.fennelandfern.co.uk

Have a look at the Good Growing Guide - free downloadable gardening advice: www.fennelandfern.co.uk/grow

denis trundle

• Not So New ...
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2009, 17:05:55 »
Is it possible to make elderflower wine rather than champagne? :)

GlentoranMark

• Half Acre
« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2009, 12:49:07 »
I think I've sourced an elder tree, I'll give this a go sometime soon (maybe later).

If you measure the specific gravity as the sugar is added and after the brew finishes you can work out how much alcohol is in it. Use the following calculator:

http://www.thehomebrewforum.co.uk/calculators.php?sid=8cb0b9882a695b86ad4d548c8fdbf696#ABV

Remember this will still keep brewing in the bottles so best taking your second reading as your drinking it.

GlentoranMark

• Half Acre
« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2009, 17:07:31 »