Author Topic: Tomato and potatoe help please  (Read 2524 times)

princess

• Not So New ...
Tomato and potatoe help please
« on: July 02, 2009, 08:48:11 »
Hi this is my first attempt at growing potatoes and tomatos. I got some canes for my tomatos and i have tied them to the canes and at first they were ok, but not the tomato plants which are in grow bags keep falling over, is this because the  canes are not long enough.

One lot of my potatoe plants are flowering and they are in a plastic tub, i just tried digging down with a trowel to see if there is any potatoes but can't feel anything, how long do they usually take to grow.

Also something has been eating the leaves on the potatoe plants, i did find a snail in their, is it the snail that is eating the leaves, how do i stop this from happening.

Flighty

• Hectare
    • Flighty's Plot
Re: Tomato and potatoe help please
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 11:41:10 »
Hello Princess and welcome to A4A.

The canes need to be longer than the plants. This RHS guide may be of help
http://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profiles0600/tomatoes.asp
if not google growing tomatoes and you'll find there's lot of helpful sites.

You don't say what variety of potatoes they are  but leave them to flower and for the foliage to start dying back then have a look. They should have been planted at least 12 weeks ago.  I don't know what's eating the leaves, don't worry about it  but do remove any snails.

It's all rather daunting when you first start growing vegetables but rest assured even longtime, experienced gardeners have failures.

I'm sorry I can't be more helpful! Do bear in mind that the more specific information you can provide the more likely it is that someone here will be able to help.
Flighty's plot,  http://flightplot.wordpress.com,  is my blog.

I support the Gardening with Disabilities Trust, http://www.gardeningwithdisabilitiestrust.org.uk

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2009, 12:32:26 »