Author Topic: sharing plots  (Read 7118 times)

electric landlady

• Half Acre
  • digging, digging, digging (in Nottingham)
Re: sharing plots
« Reply #20 on: June 26, 2009, 14:48:28 »
PS - re subletting and unfair terms - a "no subletting" clause would not generally automatically be regarded as an unfair term, although it might be depending on what else was in the contract. It's a very common term in residential tenancy agreements, where it is entirely enforceable. (My day job is to give advice on this sort of thing btw) The OFT website has a useful section on the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contract Regulations 1999 with lots of guidance if anyone wants to know more. (Bear in mind that the Tenancy Agreement Guidance on the site is talking about Assured/Assured Shorthold tenancies and not allotment tenancies, so a lot of it will not be directly relevant)   

I would definitely get legal advice before trying to argue that a "no subletting" clause is unenforceable due to unfairness. The plotholder (not the subtenant) would need to show that the existence of the term was causing a significant imbalance in their rights and obligations versus the rights and obligations of the allotment landlord, and also that this was causing them detriment, and that it was contrary to the requirements of good faith. I think this would be hard to do  in the case of the average allotment "no subletting" contract term. The safest way forward would be to either sign up as joint tenants, or to split the plot into two bits with separate tenancies.  Or if this is not possible, to keep the whole thing informal between the tenant and the "helper", with no money changing hands.

mummybunny

• Hectare
  • Loves the lottie
« Reply #21 on: June 26, 2009, 16:02:08 »
Sorry corney Just read your message. Yes still friends all sorted  ::) working together and doing a great job even if we do say so ourselves  ;D ;D ;D

Lucy

Unwashed

• Hectare
  • Vexatious, moi?
    • Simon on Facebook