Author Topic: Butternut squash problem  (Read 2984 times)

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
Butternut squash problem
« on: June 16, 2009, 15:20:52 »
This is my first year trying butternut squash.  I transplanted Avalon (Trailing type) and Harrier (Bush type) Butternut squash here in Teeside 3 weeks ago.  All are now looking a bit pale colour and drooping.  I dug a hole, put in a fork full of manure and put each plant into it when they were 4-5" tall.  Plants looked much healthier when in their pots.  Whats gone wrong?  Weather or have I done something wrong? 
« Last Edit: June 16, 2009, 15:23:06 by ktlawson »
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

daileg

• Hectare
Re: Butternut Squash
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 15:28:18 »
wouldnt worry too much ther adjusting to the temp thing at the moment one day hot one day wet on day cold they will settle down give a while if the shrivel up check there stems near the base this is where you have problems if you going to get them

Digeroo

• Hectare
  • Cotswolds - Gravel - Alkaline
Re: Butternut squash problem
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2009, 16:14:50 »
We have had a few quite cold nights.  I think it was last Thursday the wind turned round to the north and gave us a quick burst from the Artic.  Courgettes, squashes and pumpkins are happiest above about 7 degrees.  Perhaps next year cover them at night a little longer.  The met office web site gives an indication of the temperatures though they can be out by 3 or 4 degrees.    But they did predict that one.

Once it stays warmer they usually pick up. 

the_snail

• Hectare
  • Be Kind to Slugs and Snails! :)
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2009, 18:08:57 »
If you are in the north of England I would plant them out a little later next year. For this year I would give them a good feed and it should pick them up  :)

TheSnail
Be kind to slugs and snails!

amphibian

« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2009, 21:29:33 »