Author Topic: Buying seeds, Garden centre or online ?  (Read 4282 times)

trogg

• Not So New ...
Buying seeds, Garden centre or online ?
« on: June 09, 2009, 23:07:53 »
 I've yet to start growing anything because I haven't got at allotment,
but I've noticed on here that a few people grow veg in planters, buckets etc , so I thought I'd try doing the same.

My Question is, Should I be buying my seeds on-line or down the local garden centre ?
I bought a few seeds from my local allotments but they didn't have much choice and having looked at a couple of seed web sites I have found not only choice but also loads of information.
 Where do you get your seeds from ?

:)
boing boing

DaveR

• Not So New ...
    • Life on the plot - the diary of a novice allotmenteer
Re: Buying seeds, Garden centre or online ?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 23:13:59 »
I got all mine from the garden centre because I'm a newbie and wanted to make sure I could read the packets before I bought them! I may try buying online next year because there is a bigger selection of interesting stuff, and I'm a bit more confident!
http://lifeontheplot.blogspot.com/ - the diary of a novice allotmenteer.

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2009, 23:17:13 »
For basic reliable varieties Wilkinsons, Lidl, Aldi, Pound/99p Stores etc.  For exotica, online, where depends what you're looking for.

Bjerreby

• Acre
  • Can't wait till spring........
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2009, 06:29:12 »
I'm not sure there is a lot of difference really. You can get duff seeds from anywhere.

I live in Denmark, and could get seeds locally, but I buy from Thompson and Morgan because of the variety they offer. This year, from T&M

-   Jubilee Hysor broad beans.....excellent result
-   White Gem parsnips, ditto
-   Chartwell lettuce, ditto (in fact an extraordinary fine result)
-   Onward and Hurst Green Shaft peas, ditto
-   Alto F1 beetroot, ditto
-   Bedfordshire Champion onions and banana shallots, ditto