Author Topic: tomatoes...or not!  (Read 2771 times)

lydsy

• Not So New ...
tomatoes...or not!
« on: June 02, 2009, 21:02:32 »
What am I doing wrong with my toms? I such a total newbie that  have no idea what is wrong. I sowed them mid-april, and they haven;t realy grown!

I sowed them in some topsoil I bought from Wickes. All my other seeds seem fine in it. I have watered them regularly. I have put them out in the sun, and kept them in the lightest sill in my house.

I did put them out a bit too late for about a week or too, kept coming home off long shifts to find them still out in garden.

They are still really small, and haven;t gone past first two true leaves. Some of the seed leaves have gone yellowy grey and dropped off. The undersides of the leaves are purple.

They don;t look like the plants you can buy from the garden centre, and on Gardeners World this week their plants were huge! What am I doing wrong. This is my first time growing veg ever so I am really confused. Is it too late to sow more? I have used four diferent varities of seed.

David R

• Acre
Re: tomatoes...or not!
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 21:19:35 »
hi lydsy,

sounds like they might need a feed. Tomatoes like it a bit rich and will happily take a feed with every watering. Wickes topsoil is probably not the best stuff to put them in as it is probably deficient in nutrients.

Why not plant them out in the garden if you can, give them a good feed them tomato fertilizer, or for a home-made treat you can use dilute wee (honestly) or cold tea (without milk or sugar!).

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2009, 21:23:22 »
They do seem to start slow and then put a sudden spurt on.  I start mine in January/February but it is only in the last few weeks that they have suddenly grown big.

They could be pot bound and need re-potting. They love a lot of room.

Keep the faith

lydsy

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 21:25:14 »