Author Topic: Climbing rose advice please!  (Read 2335 times)

hild

• Not So New ...
Climbing rose advice please!
« on: May 12, 2009, 23:16:56 »
I'm a bit new to this growing-roses-malarky (that is, I've got lots of roses in the garden but none that I've planted myself) and I know naff all about varieties or actually anything else rose-wise at all ;D.  I want a climbing rose to adorn my new rose arch, and ideally I'l like something that'll look nice, smell nice and flower all summer (along with the moon on a stick, obviously 8)).  Not too fussed about colour, other than I'd prefer it not to be white, as it'll be positioned next to a quite vigorous white-flowered rose-tree!  Can anyone recommend something suitable?  The garden is south-facing, in South London and there's dappled sunlight most of the day (slight shade from an apple tree).

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
Re: Climbing rose advice please!
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2009, 07:51:31 »
Have a look at David Austins site. They have some lovely climbers. I love Falstaff but it wouldn't be tall enough for your arch.
Janet

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 07:58:14 »
Look for a climber/rambler that blooms twice in a season, most only give one flush. Also it seems that the ones with the most scent are also the most vigorous, so a small rose arch will not be suitable. Go for one of the 'blues' they are quite tame but you will have to trade scent for colour.

hild

• Not So New ...
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2009, 20:41:04 »
Thanks for that, gives me a good starting point! 

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2009, 20:43:49 »
I've had a look at the label on my Falstaff & it grows to 21/2 mtrs. I don't know if that is tall enough. Have a look it looks scrummy.
Janet

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2009, 20:51:30 »