Author Topic: Mowing after Roundup on brambles  (Read 5622 times)

Mr Music

Mowing after Roundup on brambles
« on: May 04, 2009, 09:30:08 »
Good morning, everyone,

Firstly, below is an exact copy of a message I posted 10 minutes ago on another part of this site.  I'm repeating it here because I think I chose the wrong forum.  (As you can guess, I'm not only a complete novice when it come to gardening, I'm also a complete novice on this site!)  And so, to my problem ...

I am a complete, utter novice at gardening and allotments.  We acquired a plot of land behind the house which has never been cultivated.  We cut down the brambles and nettles, and dug and dug and dug, starting about a year ago and keeping going on and off but not digging the whole area.  Rather dishearteningly, the brambles have come back even where we dug twice.  I have decided to resort to Roundup.  My question is, how soon after spraying can I mow the area to leave it looking more acceptable?  I was hoping to mow it after a week, by which time the Roundup should have got into the root system.  Any advice would be most gratefully received.

I've checked the weather forecast for here (Totnes in south Devon) and there's no rain for quite a few days, so now's a good time to spray.

If for some reason this request is in the wrong part of the site, I'll happily move it, of course.  By the way, our ultimate goal is to establish raised vegetable beds, but I realise that we are some way off right now.

With best wishes,

Mr Music

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: Mowing after Roundup on brambles
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 09:40:09 »
I'd say you'd be OK after a week. Are you planning to mow the area with the brambles in it? That alone will kill them, eventually. I've got the same problem myself in a couple of places, and I'm probably going to use roundup on them myself this year.

Mr Music

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 09:45:29 »
Hi Robert,