Author Topic: New forum member, and....  (Read 2324 times)

shadowdragon

• Quarter Acre
New forum member, and....
« on: March 28, 2009, 12:43:28 »
..I have just got a 1/12 acre allotment!!!

Hi first post (one of many probably)

New to allotments ect, but Yesterday the council telephoned and offered me a plot, cant get access yet because its padlocked up but I have a few questions if I may..

1) I want to keep hens, and done some research on keeping them ect, but am I right in my thinking that if I give them the run of an area they will clear the area of weeds ect, and also fertilize it too?

2) Is the best way to leave an area fallow is by covering it up with black plastic sheets? (the area is far too big for me as i am new to allotmenteering (is that the right phrase!!), wo want to tackle it a bit at a time?

thanks in adavance for any help/tips, im sure i will have plenty of other questions in the coming days/weeks/months hehe.

nice site by the way, i have gained a lot of information already  ;D
People kept saying I had lost the plot, but found it again when I got my Allotment.

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: New forum member, and....
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 13:04:19 »
First of all welcome to A4A

Secondly; You say you want to keep hens.............have you checked if you can? Not all plot landlords allow this!

If you can I wouldnt allow them total freedom they are more likely to do more damage than good.

Perhaps you could use them as part of your rotation process and contain them in alternating sections of the plot each year.

I have never had livestock on my plot perhaps some of the others can come in on this.

Regarding the fertilising this might be a debatable point as a lot will come back to what you intend growing, as I would imagine the chickens will alter the pH of the soil.

Is the best way to leave an area fallow is by covering it up with black plastic sheets?
It is one way!