Author Topic: Why the overgrown plots?  (Read 4851 times)

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
Re: Why the overgrown plots?
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2009, 08:59:48 »
I've had my new allotment since Christmas, and have been out there working on it most weekends since the beginning of February (before that the plot was flooded by the nearby river). The plot was pretty overgrown and I started clearing it from one end (it's a full size plot).

Today I had a letter from the Council saying that they had inspected my plot and found it to be "uncultivated and weedy", and that I have 28 days to rectify it before the plot is inspected again.  I think that's a little unfair to give an overgrown plot to an absolute beginner and then effectively tell them a couple of months later that they are breaking the rules of their contract by not keeping the whole plot under cultivation permanently.  :'(

So it seems I have 28 days to dig over my whole allotment and get stuff growing or risk losing it.  :'(

Do you have any photos of the flooding and any from when you took the plot on - before and after stuff? It might help you to explain to the council what is going on

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2009, 09:30:29 »
How much of it have you managed to do? Given the sort of winter we've just had, there have probably been periods (apart from the flooding) when the weather was too bad to get on it. If you strimmed the areas you haven't tackled, and put down black plastic, that would help you make your case as they could then see that you were in the process of tackling it.

beckydore

• Half Acre
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2009, 09:43:38 »
Hi Cosmo and Dibs - where is your plot? There are a few of us on here. I'm in Solihull at the Jillcott Road site.
Becky

tomatoada

• Hectare
  • south birmingham
« Reply #23 on: March 30, 2009, 09:46:07 »