Author Topic: Cucumbers !!!  (Read 7867 times)

Muttsnuts

• Not So New ...
Cucumbers !!!
« on: March 07, 2009, 22:26:13 »
Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to this growing lark and really had no interest in gardening then I hid 40 :o and blimey things in the garden started to take on a different light in my life. ;D

Anyway enough of why I got here, I want to give cucumbers a go but have no greenhouse only a few pots for the garden which is a good sun trap. So can anyone give me some advice on how the best way of growing outdoor cucumbers????

Many thanks
Up the Gills!!!

Lauren S

• Hectare
  • Delightful Devon
Re: Cucumbers !!!
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 22:42:24 »
Hello Mutts and welcome to A4A

Before I had an allotment I grew my cukes in black flower buckets (the ones supermarkets sell their flowers from).
I drilled holes about 1inch up from the base, a good four inches of manure in the bottom topped up with compost. The buckets were paced on my steps and grew up the railings.

Marketmore = Luscious, cylindrical, dark green fruits are produced in large numbers throughout summer. Performs well both in good and poor seasons. A superb outdoor variety.

I'm sure someone will recommend other varieties
:) Net It Or You Won't Get It  :)

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 22:47:54 »
I've grown Marketmore and Burpless Tasty Green outdoors, but not in pots.  Marketmore is a short fruit, Burpless is a typical long cucmber.  Planted them out on a small mound to avoid water rotting the meck and gave them cane wigwams to grow up.

thifasmom

• Hectare
  • Growing my own, rocks!!! Maidstone, Kent.
    • Kella's Creative Wishes: Handmade Jewellery & Lots more.
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2009, 09:45:47 »
hi and welcome to the site,