Author Topic: Guerilla gardening with nigella, from the Asian supermarket?  (Read 17296 times)

ACE

• Hectare
Re: Guerilla gardening with nigella, from the Asian supermarket?
« Reply #40 on: March 08, 2009, 07:43:40 »
You seem determined to think that it's deliberate,

Um! am I missing something here? I thought this thread was about guerilla gardening. If that is not deliberate vandalism, what is?

If somebody has to even ask the question whether they could or could not do it means a lack of experience. Because they selfishly want their scruffy little eyesores looking pretty, disregarding the micro culture that is already in place on that scruffy patch that is also inexperience. Somebody mentioned planting marigolds to swamp out dandelions. Do you not use marigolds as companions to keep pests away. Why can't you let the pests have their little bit, all insects are in the chain somewhere. Even dandelions feed some species.

I am not an expert myself but I can forsee these holigans spoiling it for the rest of us with their selfish attitudes. They even pat themselves on the back, shouting what a good job they are doing.

I spent years campaigning for my local cemeteries to be left alone.  They would turn them every year into a green desert of neatly trimmed grass, because otherwise they looked scruffy. Nobody took any notice, until a conservationist called Dr. Pope, told them they were killing our heritage. luckly they listened. Now they are not termed as scruffy, they are sites of special scientific interest and it is against the law
to 'tidy' them up.

Orchids, cowslips, oxlips, wild grasses that were rediscovered, wild crocus, species daffodils and every type of stinging, biting, buzzing  insect. I could garantee that everybody on this forum would love a walk through them, just to remember some of the plants they used to know.

but you would not like that yourself would you? too many weeds not enough garden flowers.

Froglegs

• Hectare
  • Nottinghamshire.