Author Topic: when to plant?  (Read 1813 times)

grannyjanny

• PMs
  • Hectare
  • Lives in Cheshire. Light sandy soil. Loves no dig.
when to plant?
« on: February 13, 2009, 15:11:16 »
What is the earliest maincrop potatoes can be planted. We were watching The Allotment DVDs last night & the man on there was telling someone they could plant there maincrop desire potatoes now, which in the programme was February. I thought late March was the earliest.
Janet.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: when to plant?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 15:57:41 »
I certainly wouldn't plant them any earlier than the end of March, Janet.  :-\

Bjerreby

• Acre
  • Can't wait till spring........
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 16:03:19 »
I am a novice at growing veg. but I believe that most plants stop growing when the ground temperature falls to 6 degrees C.  Rather than rely on dates, I would stick a thermometer in the ground and be guided by that, and how hardy and frost tender the plant in question is. I notice for example that runner beans need far higher temperatures than, say, broad beans.

Trevor_D

• Hectare
  • north-west London
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2009, 16:22:10 »
My next-door-neighbour always used to plant all his potatoes on his birthday, which was at the end of February. But then he sowed his tomato seeds (in an un-heated greenhouse) on Christmas Day! (They were usually through by Easter!!)

Second half of March - in a good year - down here in the sheltered South; or even first week in April.

cornykev

• Hectare
  • Sunny Cheshunt just outside North London
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2009, 16:57:57 »