Author Topic: Summer Savory  (Read 2702 times)

• Hectare
  • And all that ..... in Hastings
    • Promenade Plantings
Summer Savory
« on: January 27, 2009, 17:43:41 »
Hi. I’m planning to grow summer savory with broad beans this year – I’ve read that it can help in preventing aphid attacks etc and is a good companion plant. As I’ve never tried this before I have a couple of questions
As per the seed packet it says to sow in March directly – as I’ve got 2 lots of broad beans planned Aquadulce (autumn sown) and the Sutton (for spring sowing) – should I sow some earlier in pots indoors and then plant out alongside the plants (Aquadulce) ? Or would it be too late LOL!
Also how should I sow / plant them – in amongst the beans, at the end of rows and how many?
I also hope to manage to try this herb as I’ve never had it before  ;D
Thanks for your help

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: Summer Savory
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2009, 18:46:35 »
I grew them a few years ago, for planting with the runner beans,supposed to stop wind  ;D
I grew them indoors and transplanted them, got too many, froze some of the leaves with the beans, seem to remember they were quite easy  :)

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 19:22:05 »
We grow them on in pots then use them in dividing up the beds inside the pottager... I'll put up a pic later but am late for a comm. meeting!  ;D

• Hectare
    • Promenade Plantings
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 07:50:02 »
Thanks for the info - so there'll be more pots on the window cills then!
looking forward to the pics Saddad

glosterwomble

• Hectare
  • Gloucester - The South West
    • Fork it...a Gloucester allotment
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 10:50:04 »
I grew them a few years ago, for planting with the runner beans,supposed to stop wind  ;D ...

Great I'll plant some, our allotment is very windy!!!  ;) ;D :o ::) ;)
View my blog on returning a totally