Author Topic: how much to grow??  (Read 1701 times)

spudsmummy

• Half Acre
how much to grow??
« on: January 17, 2009, 10:18:46 »
hi there  :)
i am new to growing my own veg.  i was wondering how to work out how much stuff to grow.
there is just me and my son but would also like a bit to give away to my family. also would like stuff that will be able to store and last the year iynwim. ;)
just the basics like potatoes, onions, peas, beans and salad stuff. i dont want to waste any but wont to have enough,  ;D

anyone got any good ways of working it all out??

thanks Paula
6.5 rod plot in southampton, just me and my 2yr old son, hehe       

the-goodlife

• Quarter Acre
Re: how much to grow??
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 10:24:56 »
You can never really work out how much to grow, all i can say is buy a freezer and blanch and get storing or i give some of mine to a local pub in exchange for a few beers lol ;D
today i will be growin veg

hopalong

• Hectare
  • East Finchley, North London
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 11:17:23 »
Hard to answer your question.  It depends what you like, how many mouths you want to feed and whether you want to sell or give away any of it.  Personally, I can never have enough potatoes, garlic, onions and greens.

Spread out your sowing. Speaking from recent experience (I got my allotment in December 2006), try to resist the temptation to sow too much at a time. At first,  I did not follow what all the books say about successional sowing, especially for salad crops, and ended with a glut that was too big to use or give away, followed by a shortage.

Keep Calm and Carry On

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 11:20:34 »
I agree there is no exact formula to calculate you needs.

To take the items you listed; potatoes, onions, peas, beans and salad stuff.

Maincrop potatoes and onions store well, early potatoes not so well!