Author Topic: Mini greenhouse  (Read 4175 times)

mummybunny

• Hectare
  • Loves the lottie
Mini greenhouse
« on: October 07, 2008, 11:28:33 »
Hi

Just wondered if someone could tell me if a cold frame is a small greenhouse? I'm new to this so sorry if its a daft question! I dont have room for a full sized green house plus dont think it would be safe with my footie mad son   :-\

I have seen tall thin plastic ones basically shelfs with a plastic cover are these any good? Obviously the cheaper the better but dont want to end up spending money on something that is useless!

Thanks

lucy

OllieC

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Nairn
Re: Mini greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2008, 11:37:10 »
They're not the same, no. If you're short on space (as we are) then the mini greenhouse is the way to go. Make sure you fill the bottom with bricks though!

I love my plastic mini greenhouse - started my toms off a month early this year than before, plus they didn't end up leggy from being indoors. Currently each week I'm adding a seed tray sown with salad. There's room for 12 trays in there, and that will give us a continuous supply of salad all winter. Then back with the toms early next year.

It's not very useful in the summer - I had a couple of toms in there and you have to leave the door open or they'll cook, and then they don't get water from the sky... no better than the outside ones but a little more effort!

Georgie

• Hectare
  • Enfield, North London
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2008, 12:18:09 »