Author Topic: spuds for christmas day  (Read 2479 times)

chelsea dagger

• Not So New ...
spuds for christmas day
« on: November 11, 2008, 21:00:13 »
i am only in my 3rd year of allotmentteering so i havent tried it yet .Has anybody had a go, what spuds are best,are they seed potatoes  and when do you put them in the tubs or spud bags so you can grow them to a decent size for xmas, seeya,    mick

ceres

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
Re: spuds for christmas day
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 21:09:28 »
2nd earlies are best, you need a variety that will mature quickly.  I've got Carlingford this year.  Normal seed potatoes, I ordered mine back at the beginning of this year when I ordered the rest of the seed potatoes.  Most of the big seed potato suppliers do them now.  Mine went in mid-Augsut outside in the ground but I'm in London, in colder places you might need to protect them.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2008, 21:16:12 »
hiya, chelsea digger, nice to meet you  ;D
our spuds went in in september, in a container, under cover..ours were some of our own spuds that had gone a bit green, we covered them with some fleece when we had frost and they're doing ok..lots of the catalogues had spuds for christmas seed potatoes earlier in the season

Lauren S

• Hectare
  • Delightful Devon
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 22:11:15 »
I did Christmas potatoes last year, but drat I forgot to save some to do the same this year  :'(.

I used Charlottes. I put mine in the ground about August time and we were eating them for boxing day and well into the new year too. Delish.

When the seed potatoes appear in the shops again in December/January I'm going to try some in large trugs to get some really early earlies. Keep them in the greenhouse, others on the site did it last year too with very good results.

Welcome to the site Chelsea  :)
Lauren
:) Net It Or You Won't Get It  :)

thifasmom

• Hectare