Author Topic: Brugmansias no space for them!  (Read 3379 times)

Yuet_Lee

• Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
Brugmansias no space for them!
« on: August 25, 2004, 01:18:04 »
Hi there,
I've managed to propagate another 4 Brugmansia. But trouble I could not found any more space to keep them over winter. My greenhouse was not warm enough and full of other plants ,our house was full of plants. This is my first year that I have a garden (before I live in flat). And I seen these Brugmansia plant two street away from me last summer, I haven't seen it again this year! I falling in love of these . And I found it in Wilkingson store in March. I brought it keep it in my windowsil than I toke it out in early May nearly killed it because I toke it out too early. Good job it come up again. Now it grow to 5foot tall with quite a few buds.How can I keep them over winter? And now I got another 4 little one incase the big one died. But my husband complaining too many plants at home!!! Tough!!!

Yuet

Kerry

• Hectare
Re:Brugmansias no space for them!
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2004, 18:18:48 »
hi again yuet,
i've grown daturas this year from seed. i don't know what particular type of brugmansia you have, there are lots. often daturas and brugmansias get a bit mixed up with naming.
however, for winter care i think they can be treated the same. i've found a useful site by 'googling' brugmansia, its the 'american datura and brugmansia society', easy to find.
basically what they say is that as long as they are overwintered in a frost free place they should live. As the datura/brugmansia can make a sizeable shrub with woody stem, it can be cut back before overwintering to a smaller height, basically whatever height you require. Water only sparingly, it will lose all its leaves and look dead but will spring back to life next season. as i say, extra info. on the american website.
any idea what colour yours are? just smile at your husband and tell him how wonderfully patient he is! ;)