Author Topic: Drying beans and frost  (Read 4959 times)

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
Drying beans and frost
« on: October 27, 2008, 20:32:45 »
This has probably already been asked but I can't find it on search  ???

I have beans that are drying in their pods on the vines at my lottie - some for use as seeds for next year, but most for drying and eating in soups and casseroles in the winter. For one reason and another I couldn't get to the lottie this weekend and now I hear there is a severe frost forecast for my area. Will this affect the beans in the pods in terms of eating or seed quality?

I am hoping that the pods will keep out a few degree's of frost I know the vines will have had it.

Thanks for your help - I am a novice at shell bean growing and most of these varieties come from a seed swap so only a few of each to start with.

euronerd

• Acre
  • West Yorks
Re: Drying beans and frost
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 00:39:40 »
I'm in exactly the same position Suzanne and I'm north of you, and I'm fairly confident that the beans will survive, As you say, the pods will insulate them. It won't affect the eating qualities.

Geoff.
You can't please all of the people all of the time, but you can't upset them all at once either.

Rhubarb Thrasher

• Hectare
  • Dark Side Of The Rhubarb
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 07:29:00 »
if the beans and pods are fully dried they'll probably be OK. If they're not  or if they're wet they may get damaged, and the beans will go a bit brown and won't store

PurpleHeather

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 08:23:15 »
The damage will come it they get damp, mould. So pick and dry them carefully.

I picked some which had been left hanging over winter last year on a discarded plot, and planted them on spare land (for the hell of it) and they grew and produced a decent crop.

Can't say about cooking them though.

twinkletoes

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2008, 08:41:05 »