Author Topic: Keeping Carrots and Parsnips???  (Read 1839 times)

Chantenay

• Half Acre
Keeping Carrots and Parsnips???
« on: August 23, 2004, 13:36:57 »
I want to keep the maincrop carrots and parsnips as long as poss, but not in the freezer. They do seem to be full grown, but still have loads of fresh foliage. Do they have to be left to die down like potatoes so the skin sets?
If I leave them in the ground, when can I pour coffee solution on to keep slugs away?? Should I wait until vegetation dies down or can I do it when I think they are big enough? How long will they keep in the ground?
If I try to store some, must I buy sand or will dry soil do? Any idea which method will keep them longest and the tastiest?
I need lots of detail and tips please as this is my first time, the crop is gorgeous and I do not want to waste them. Thank you.
Chantenay.

sandersj89

• Hectare
  • Who me?
    • My Allotment Blog
Re:Keeping Carrots and Parsnips???
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2004, 13:55:11 »
Have a look at these sites, the HDRA one is particularly good.

http://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profiles1101/storing_root_veg.asp

http://www.hdra.org.uk/factsheets/gg16.htm

On my heavy soil I lift carrots before the ground gets too water logged but leave parsnips a little long. Both will store for a few weeks in paper sacks but best packed into boxes for longer storage.

As to when to start using coffee water to deter slugs, you can start anytime now IMHO.

Jerry
Caravan Holidays in Devon, come stay with us:

http://crablakefarm.co.uk/

I am now running a Blogg Site of my new Allotment:

http://sandersj89allotment.blogspot.com/

Hugh_Jones

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2004, 14:43:43 »
A lot depends on your soil, Chantenay. If you have very heavy, sticky soil, they are best lifted and stored - for preference I would box them in peat - in temperature conditions suitable for potatoes.