Author Topic: Using Ornamental Grasses  (Read 2003 times)

Garden Manager

• Hectare
  • Denman the Great
Using Ornamental Grasses
« on: August 29, 2008, 09:38:06 »
For those of you who grow medium sized evergreen or semi evergreen grasses such as stipas in the garden, can I ask how you arrange them with other plants? Do you plant them in groups, as 'dot' plants or random drifts?
Are they best planted at the front of the border or further back?

I have been growing these grasses in my borders for a couple of years now and cant get the placing and arranging of them quite right. They freqently hide or even smother surrounding plants.

Any ideas would be welcome please.

betula

• Hectare
Re: Using Ornamental Grasses
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 09:43:14 »
I am not a fan of them.A lot of my customers have them and they always look messy and hard to fit in. :)

ACE

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 10:37:15 »
I use them for movement, usually drifted through a bed of rigid type plants. Plant as you would your other plants tallest at back, falling lower as you come forward. Use really striking colours to peak through now and again like lichnus vesuvius through a medium bronze grass. Tall grasses like stipa G ideally need supporting by other tall plants, try big alliums and verbena borienses. Foxtail barley looks good with dark dahlias. There are loads of uses I could not work without them.

Look at some of the garden show pictures you can get on the rhs sites and pinch some ideas.

My lastest use for a grass is couch in a hanging basket mixed with a large flowering convolvulus. Well if you have to put up with it make it work for its living.

betula

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 10:47:52 »
I agree they look OK when first planted but not in the long term,Grass does not belong in flower beds :)

They look best in a bed dedicated to them,in my opinion,well spaced and that way you can really appreciate the movement of the plant,and the look.