Author Topic: Selling allotment produce  (Read 11185 times)

keef

• Hectare
Selling allotment produce
« on: August 13, 2008, 22:44:16 »
I've just found out that the PC in the next village have passed a rule preventing allotment holders from selling thier produce - unless its for raising funds for the allotment. Are they allowed to do this ?

Does'nt effect me, but i'd be interest to know what people think...
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

Hyacinth

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Re: Selling allotment produce
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 22:47:01 »
Doesn't affect me, either, Keef, but that's what I've always understood too.

Fork

• Hectare
  • Amber valley,Derbyshire
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 22:54:44 »
You will find that rules differ all around the country.

There is nothing in the rules for my plot that says I cannot sell surplus veg.

You can pick your friends, and you can pick your nose, but you can't pick your friends nose

ninnyscrops

• Hectare
  • Doing what comes naturally......in West Sussex
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 23:06:15 »
Our allotment rules say for personal consumption only, and must admit with my two small plots, can just about make it round to next season with some frozen stuff.

Give away some surplus to neighbours and friends that I can't freeze.

Nice when they reciprocate with a Tiramisu dessert though  ;)
If I ever get it all right - then that's the time to quit.

sawfish

• Hectare
  • glasgow dreamer
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 23:13:12 »
isn't here some way of selling a 'cardboard box', which just happens to have veg in it.

If you know what I mean, nudge nudge, wink wink, say no more.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2008, 23:49:40 »
Our allotment rules say for personal consumption only,