Author Topic: I'm redundant. At least I'll finish my digging I spose.  (Read 2637 times)

oakmore2

• Half Acre
  • Rabbit surveillance officer
I'm redundant. At least I'll finish my digging I spose.
« on: August 21, 2008, 21:57:07 »
Hello All

Even though I'm a newbie, I've been made to feel so welcome by you all it feels as though I should let you all know. Just arrived home from a meeting in our company's head office. Was told today that I'm going to be made redundant. Was half expecting it but still feel gutted, and really quite worried about the financial side of things.

Still, I suppose I'll get the other half of my plot dug now, and I can make my allotment look lovely and tidy.  :-\

It seems there's a lot of this redundancy rubbish around at the moment. Hope nobody else on A4A is facing the same thing (although wouldn't we all have great looking plots!! ;D).

glosterwomble

• Hectare
  • Gloucester - The South West
    • Fork it...a Gloucester allotment
Re: I'm redundant. At least I'll finish my digging I spose.
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 22:08:35 »
Sorry to hear your news that you will be made redundant, as you say it will give you the chance to do lots of work at the plot!! Be positive, something will be just around the corner!!
View my blog on returning a totally
 overgrown plot in Gloucester
 into a productive allotment ... http://fork-in-hell.blogspot.com/

betula

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 22:28:47 »
I am so sorry.What a misery for you.

My husband was made redundant two years ago after twenty years in the job.

There is an old saying .As one door shuts another one opens.

I have always found this to be true for me and hope it is the same for you. :)

Good Luck.

asbean

• Hectare
  • Winchester, Hants
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 22:36:41 »
Good luck Oakmore2, make the most of being able to work on the allotment, put in as much as you can for the winter/spring and you'll be glad of the homegrown veg when you need it.